Bathroom / Beauty & Body / DIY / Frugal Shopper / Green Cleaning / Made-in-my-kitchen / Personal Experiences / Skin Care

UPDATE: Foaming Soap Nut Shampoo and Body Wash

FOAM

FOAM

Today I’m excited to share with you the winning soap nut liquid recipe.  I compared 4 different recipes to see which one worked best for me.

Recipe 1:

Recipe 2:

  • 100% soap nut liquid
  • 2 T Castile Soap
  • 3 drops tea tree oil
  • 8 drops lemon oil
  • 8 drops rosemary oil

Recipe 3: My Fav

  • 50% soap nut liquid
  • 50% water
  • 1 T vinegar
  • 3 drops tea tree oil
  • 5 drops rosemary oil
  • 5 drops lemon oil

Recipe 4: BF’s Fav

  • 50% soap nut liquid
  • 50% water
  • 2 T Castile Soap (this will make it a little cloudy)
  • 1 T Vinegar
  • 3 drops tea tree oil
  • 8 drops rosemary oil
  • 8 drops lemon oil

My favorite is recipe number 3.  It cleans my hair with out drying it out too much, and since the vinegar is already in the mix I don’t have to use a conditioner either.  Now my BF likes number 4 because it foams up more… (the castile soap).  Numbers 1 and 2 seemed to over dry my skin and hair so I suggest diluting the solutions.  Many say that you only need 1 ounce of soap nut liquid to clean your hair, with a 7.5 ounce pump bottle that would be about 17 pumps for 1 ounce.  For yourself, if your skin or hair is too dry then use less or dilute it to 25% soap nut liquid and 75% water.

Leave a Reply

