DIY / Frugal Shopper / Made-in-my-kitchen / Personal Experiences

Homemade Fabric Freshener… Ditch the Febreze

Lavender Fabric Freshener

Lavender Fabric Freshener

This recipe is from OneGoodThingByJillee, which was adapted from The Cents’able Shoppin, and I used it during my spring cleaning on our couches… I used lavender and it made the whole house smell delicious.  There also other recipes listed, even for those who want to use their laundry fabric softener as an ingredient.  🙂

  • 1 cup  distilled water
  • 1/4 cup white distilled vinegar
  • 1 tablespoon rubbing alcohol
  • 1/2 tablespoon baking soda
  • 8-10 drops essential oil
    • Put ingredients in spray bottle and shake it up before use.
    • What I love about this recipe is that I always have these ingredients on hand so I can just whip up a fresh batch when I run out… and the cost savings is great.  I don’t have to buy a $4/5 item that does only one thing, I can use ingredients I have on hand that do multiple things.  Oh why can’t more people be this way…

NOTE: I used this on my couches (as we do not have curtains or carpet)… but basically where you would have used Febreze you could use this.  (do a spot check to make sure).

Leave a Reply

