Bathroom / Beauty & Body / DIY / Frugal Shopper / Made-in-my-kitchen / Personal Experiences / Skin Care

Made-In-My-Kitchen: Soap Nut Shampoo

Soap Nut Shampoo

Soap Nut Shampoo

Yesterday I wrote about Soap nuts, and today I’d like to share that they make a great shampoo.  Previously a different post I wrote talked about using baking soda as shampoo, but I think this one takes the cake!  You don’t need any conditioner at all (and my hair is almost down to my booty)… I was super skeptical at first.  The smell isn’t the greatest, but you can add Essential Oils for that.

Soap Nut Shampoo

To make the shampoo just add:

  •  1/4 cup of the soap nut liquid
  •  3/4 cup water
  • your favorite Essential Oils… optional… although the smell of the soap nut will not last after it is washed out (kind of like Vinegar)

This can be used to clean your body and face as well.  I just make a little extra in my bottle and use it on my body.  It will not be sudsy, but know that it is working!

My Experience So Far:

I’ve used it as a shampoo and body wash for the past few days.  It has left my hair soft and shiny and tangle FREE, and my skin is OH SO SOFT…  I will be keeping this in my shower 🙂

NOTE:

KEEP OUT OF EYES… It will sting like you rubbed a hot pepper in it.  I haven’t had any problems so far.  Put the above recipe in a SPRAY BOTTLE and use it that way… no need to scrub hard at all.  Also remember to only make as much as you will need for the week and store the rest in the fridge.

PRICE:

As far as the price goes, I bought a 5 pound bag of these for about $40 including shipping.  It’s a pretty big bag… I’ve given many away and still have the majority of it left.  To make 32 ounces of this liquid only takes about 12-15 soap nuts, depending on the nut that’s about 2 onces (this includes the whole nut not just the shell… you will take the center nut out).  To make the Soap Nut Liquid it costs me about $1.  So as far as the shampoo goes it costs me about $.06 per wash… and it’s 100% natural.  That totally beats my $.70 per wash using store bought natural shampoo and conditioner.  Now I only have to buy one product.

🙂  Oh and don’t forget this liquid does many things… more to come!

Get Your Own Nuts HERE!!!

Leave a Reply

