Bathroom / Beauty & Body / Coupons / DIY / Made-in-my-kitchen / Skin Care

Made-In-My-Kitchen: Body Wash – Shampoo

Make Your Own!

Make Your Own!

Recently a fan asked me to post a soap recipe, so today here it is.  This is an easy one as I do not make my own soaps, so I use a natural bar soap.  Have you ever looked up the products in your bathroom via the Cosmetics Database?  It’s a little scary!  I encourage everyone to visit and search your bathroom products.

Now, does anyone have their favorite bar soap around?  If you do, there is an easy way to turn that bar into liquid body wash, shampoo, and hand wash and save $$$.  This time I used Dr. Bronner’s Hemp Lavender Bar Soap, I have also found this Yardley brand of soap at the $.99 Store, it’s natural and smells delicious.  I use the lavender one to make my laundry detergent.  All you need is a natural bar soap because you do not want all that junk and filler that many soaps have (or for those who are cool with chemicals you can use your normal bar soaps too, most of the time you can find great coupons).  You are going to laugh when I tell you the ONLY other necessary ingredient… WATER!!!  So now turn your bar into something more useful and less ugly to the eye… come on, have you ever wanted to pick up someone else’s bar of soap? Yeah me either.  You can store your lovely new liquid body wash in a bottle you already have and save it from a landfill or if you have a fancy pump bottle use that too!  I use an old lotion bottle for my shampoo 🙂

Also this is a great way for those of us out there that have crazy sensitive skin and can’t use things that have harsh chemicals in it, to make their own liquid soaps from a bar of their choosing.

  • Body Wash – Shampoo:
    • 1/2 Bar of Soap  (Mine was 5 oz) 
    • 2.5 cups water   (per 1 oz soap use 1 Cup Water)
    • 5/8 cup extra virgin olive oil   (1/4 cup olive oil per cup wash… Optional: for conditioning… I used a mixture of oils: sweet almond, avocado oil, grapeseed oil, and lavender oil)  I recommend trying it before adding the oils, to see how your hair or skin react.  Especially for your hair as you won’t want too much excess oil.
      1. Using a cheese grater, grate your bar of soap
      2. Add water and soap to pan and heat until soap flakes dissolve (it will look milky)
      3. Pour into bowl and Let it cool to room temperature (this is when it starts to thicken)
      4. When cooled add your oil
      5. If it is too thick for you then add more water until it’s they way you want it (I ended up adding half a cup to mine… also I let mine cool in a measuring cup so I could see how much it made, if you have less water than when you started add until you’re back where you were)
      6. Clean up… the fun part about this is, you have hardly any dishes to do because you just made a soap!!!  So rinse and let dry you’re done!
        • This made 28 oz of wash, to buy that in a store would be $15-30 depending on what type of wash you buy (I’ve used Burt’s Bees $9 per 12 oz bottle) This cost about $4 to make:  the bar of soap was $4 (I used half so $2), and the olive oil is about $2 worth, so for $4 you get a great value and yummy body wash/shampoo!
        • If I had used the Yardley bar I would have only cost me $2.50 to make 28 oz!
        • For Parents of those who take care of children/teens: This could be a great experiment with the proper supervision and does not require the use of the stove, simply shred the soap and pour in the water leave it sit over night and you will get the same effect (make sure the water at least covers the soap crumbs)
Love this, as you can use this to clean your entire body :)

Love this, as you can use this to clean your entire body 🙂

I found this recipe at LittleSeedFarm.com.  I just love making my own products, so I will have to make this one.    And guess what?… it’s cheaper than buying it.  Here are the ingredients, visit the site for directions!

  • 1 Tbs steel cut oats (optional – to infuse)

  • 1 sprig of rosemary (optional – to infuse)

  • 1 c. distilled water

  • 1 Tsp citric acid (to prevent bacterial growth in your bodywash)

  • 2 Tbs coconut oil (can swap out with olive, grapeseed, almond, jojoba, apricot kernel or any other oil)

  • 1 Tbsp honey

  • 1-1/2 c. liquid castile soap (I used Dr Bronner’s)

  • 1 tsp guar gum (you can find it in most markets that carry natural foods with the Bob’s Red Mill grains)

  • 30 drops essential oils (your preference – I used a blend of lavender, chamomile, and lemongrass)

Leave a Reply

