Coconut Oil / DIY / Made-in-my-kitchen / Skin Care

Made-In-My-Kitchen: Coconut Oil Deodorant

2013-02-02 20.04.20

Coconut Oil Deodorant:
 – 1/4 cup arrowroot powder
– 1/4 cup baking soda (if you have sensitive skin do not use this, use additional arrowroot powder)
– 1/4 cup virgin coconut oil
– 1/4 cup shea butter
– 15-20 drops of your preferred essential oil (I used: lemon, rosemary, and tea tree) (many others love lavender)
Combine coconut oil and shea butter and melt over medium heat.  Whisk in the baking soda and arrowroot powder until smooth.  Let it cool a bit then add you preferred essential oils.  Once finished put into glass jar or clean deodorant container and use when needed.  Just massage your lovely armpit with this deodorant after a shower.

If you are using commercial deodorants, there will be an adjustment period where your body may smell a bit until it gets used to the coconut oil.  So don’t give up on it too easily.  Also you may want to keep this in the fridge if your house is over 75 degrees as the coconut oil may melt a bit.

My cost for making this deodorant (8 oz) is $3.78 and it is 100% natural!  A commercial stick of deodorant is usually about 2.6 oz and can cost anywhere from $2 – $5/6 depending on the type you buy.  That is an amazing savings.  To buy 8 oz of commercial deodorant can cost between $6-$18, either way it’s an incredible deal, and you know exactly what’s in in.

NOTE: This is not an antiperspirant  this is just a deodorant; however, I have noticed a little sweating while using this, but not a lot, and each person is different.  I don’t mind it, because I know it’s natural and not putting toxins in my body and I don’t smell.  I hope you try it out and LOVE it!  I am going to try putting some different salts in my next batch to see if that might help with the minor sweating… oh and going to try infusing the coconut oil with something different like lavender blooms!


If you enjoyed this, please share it with your friends!

One thought on “Made-In-My-Kitchen: Coconut Oil Deodorant

  1. Pingback: DIY: Homemade Spray Deodorant | TheN8kedRose

Leave a Reply

